Senior Recognition Assembly
Categories: General, Upper School
Posted: 5/16/2019


The Upper School Senior Recognition Assembly was held on April 26 in the LSSAC. The program included Dr. Kevin Bracher, head of school, welcoming guests and praying followed by the presentation of the senior class and Nathan Stevens, Upper School principal, presenting each graduating senior with a Bible.

Departmental awards were then presented by Stevens and each department chair. Senior Department Awards for Excellence are given to the seniors who have demonstrated the highest skills and aptitude in the academic disciplines taught at Whitefield Academy. This award represents achievement shown throughout all four years of work at Whitefield Academy.

Department Awards for Excellence
• Bible: Mikala Chambers
• English: Grayce Guthrie
• Fine Arts/Dramatic Performance: Cha Cha Hamilton
• Fine Arts/Music Performance: Zachary Justice
• Fine Arts/Visual Art: Robert Matherne
• Foreign Language: Shelby Wingate
• History: Sherina Thomas 
• Mathematics: Donovan Pearce
• Science: Caleb Corliss

During the presentation of academic awards, the 32 students receiving Magna Cum Laude and Summa Cum Laude diplomas were recognized for their academic achievement. 

Students receiving the Magna Cum Laude diploma are Nyah Britt, Ansleigh Brown, Mikala Chambers, Anna Cykoski, Kayla Dixon, Patrick Hepner, Robert Matherne, Luke McLemore, Nathan Messner, Matthew Oluyide, West Peterson, Paxston Richards, Ellie Richburg, Matthew Sumlin, Madison Sutherland, Olivia Veenendaal-Casper, William Weston, and Lala Zewdu. 

The Summa Cum Laude graduates are Mary Charles Bounds, Caleb Corliss, Sarah Davis, Emilie Grand'Pierre, Grayce Guthrie, Cha Cha Hamilton, Zachary Justice, Anna Grace Kwon, Hannah Morris, Donovan Pearce, Emmy Pridgeon, Adria Stevens, Sherina Thomas, and Shelby Wingate.

Caleb Corliss and Kyle Justice, Upper School math teacher, were recognized as this year’s STAR student and teacher. The Student Teacher Achievement Recognition, or STAR, Program honors Georgia's outstanding high school seniors and the teachers who have been most instrumental in their academic development. During the past 55 years, the STAR Program has honored more than 23,500 high school seniors who have in turn chosen their STAR Teachers to share in this recognition. To obtain the STAR nomination, high school seniors must have the highest score on one test date on the SAT and be in the top 10 percent or top 10 students of their class based on grade point average.

Other academic awards presented were the Senior Achievement Award, the Academic Excellence Awards, salutatorian award, and valedictorian award.    

The Senior Achievement Award was presented to Madison Sutherland. The award is given to the senior who has demonstrated exceptional accomplishment through initiative.  

The Senior Academic Excellence Award recipients were Kristen Barnes, Caleb Corliss, Hannah Morris, Sherina Thomas, class salutatorian Grayce Guthrie, and class valedictorian Donovan Pearce. All six students have maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA throughout all of high school. 

Special awards presented by Dr. Bracher included the Ephesians Award, Timothy Award, Excellence in Citizenship, the Jabez Award, the Head of School’s Distinguished Scholar Award, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution Cup, the Charles L. Johnston Christian Leadership Award, and the George Whitefield Award.

The Ephesians Award is presented to a student in each grade who is most enthusiastic about ongoing community service throughout the course of Upper School. The award was presented to Joe Martin Tvaroch for completing 1,033 hours of community service during his four years at Whitefield Academy. 

Timothy Award recipients are young men and women of character, voted by both the students and faculty, who set the best example for their peers in speech, in life, in love, in faith, and in purity. The award recipients were Keri Quillin and Jordan Johnson.

Carson Llewellyn received the Excellence in Citizenship Award. The award is presented to a senior who has reached out to help others and who has shared his or her time and talent within the community.

This year’s Jabez Award recipient was Zachary Justice. This award recognizes a student who has shown extraordinary leadership in the Upper School, not only in the classroom, but also in extracurricular activities.

Emilie Grand’Pierre received the Head of School’s Distinguished Scholar Award. This award is given to the senior who has attained noteworthy distinction in academics, arts, athletics, and service. 

The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Cup recognizes the senior who has achieved all-around excellence and leadership in academics, athletics, the arts, and community activities. The 2019 AJC cup awardee was Donovan Pearce.

The Charles L. Johnston Christian Leadership Award is presented to the senior who lives out the Christian faith among his or her peers as well as within the larger community. This year’s award recipient was Adria Stevens.

This year’s George Whitefield Award recipient was Grayce Guthrie. The award is presented to the senior who best exemplifies the words of the mission statement: “A passion for learning, for others ahead of self, and for the living and active Jesus.”

Congratulations to the Class of 2019 and to all of our award recipients!