Juniors Receive Special Achievement Awards
Categories: General, Upper School
Posted: 5/17/2017

Every year, the Upper School has the opportunity to nominate juniors for a few awards beyond the awards available at Honors Day. The following students have earned special recognition based on their grades, test scores, activities and service. 

The Furman Scholars Award honors juniors based on high grades and standardized test scores. Furman scholars who enroll at Furman University are guaranteed a $5,000 minimum renewable scholarship. This year, four of our outstanding juniors have received the distinction of Furman Scholars: Jakob Burkett, Alex Carver, Christian Knox, and Joseph Schwartz.

The Rhodes College Book Award is presented to a junior who has demonstrated exemplary community service. Community service coupled with a commitment to leadership and helping others is one of the cornerstones of the Rhodes philosophy. In an effort to encourage such dedication, Rhodes College is proud to present this award to Madeline LeBlanc.

The Bausch and Lomb Honorary Science Award is presented by Rochester College to a junior who has demonstrated high achievement and rigor in science classes and has received high PSAT and SAT math scores. Honoring exceptional promise in the sciences, this award goes to Jackson Williams.

The Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology Award is presented by Rochester College and honors a student who has a strong interest and high level of achievement in innovation and technology. This year’s Xerox Award is presented to Evan Gossett.

The ACSI Leadership Awards are presented by the Association of Christian Schools International. The award is given to current high school juniors that best represent each of the categories in which the award is given. The categories of awards are as follows: Athletic Leadership, Fine Arts Leadership, and Christian Leadership. This year’s recipient of the ACSI Athletics Leadership Award is Brooks Merkle. The Fine Arts Leadership Award goes to Ruthie Evans. The service award recipient is Andre’us Johnson.

The Gordon College Book Award honors a student who has achieved academically, in leadership potential, and commitment to Christ-honoring service for the common good. This year’s recipient is Stephen Hellier.

The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation’s oldest and most widely known academic honor society. For over two and a quarter centuries, the Society has embraced the principles of freedom of inquiry and liberty of thought and expression.  The Metropolitan Atlanta Alumni Association of Phi Beta Book Award is presented to the junior who best exemplifies the ideals of the Phi Beta Kappa. This year’s recipient of the Phi Beta Kappa Book Award is Jared Jones

The University of Georgia Certificate of Merit is awarded in recognition of outstanding scholastic achievement throughout the first three years of high school. Nominees must place in the top five percent of the junior class. It is with a great deal of pride that we award the University of Georgia Certificate of Merit to Katie Cella, Maggie Heiskell, Michael McCarthy, and Kaitlyn Stewart.