Recent Posts

News Archive
Upper School Students Inducted into Fine Arts Honor Societies
Categories: General, Upper School, Fine Arts
Posted: 2/15/2017


Numerous Upper School students were honored on Wednesday, February 15, for their commitment to fine arts and their contributions to the Whitefield arts program during an induction ceremony for three distinct fine arts honor societies. 

Nathan Stevens, Upper School principal, opened the ceremony with a word of prayer, then Rebecca Brown, Upper School arts teacher; Stacy Quiros, fine arts director and band teacher; and Kayla Marsh, drama teacher, each introduced the students for their respective honor societies.

The National Art Honor Society

Brown inducted 16 new members into The National Art Honor Society. The organization exists to support and inspire art students to recognize artistic ability, further aesthetic awareness, and bring positive attention to the school and community. The organization also serves to foster artistic excellence and further the creative talents of the members and of the entire school.

Congratulations to the following inductees: Hunter Bilotti, Sarah Davis, Lucy Eichelberger, Maggie Leigh Faulk, Jack Fitzgerald, Madison Fry, Macy Kendrick, Madeline LeBlanc, Ryan Llewellyn, Robert Matherne, Michael McCarthy, Brenner McCutcheon, Brooks Merkle, Elizabeth Pridgeon, Emmy Pridgeon, and Jonathan Wood.

Brown also recognized students who earned second- and third-year awards in the Society:
Third-year awards - Jessica Burnett (Co-President), Ansley Guthrie (Co-President), Samara Huggins (Co-President)
Second-year awards - Mariah Cowan, Anna Griffin (Co-Vice President), Kaitlyn Stewart, Olivia Viergever (Co-Vice President)

Tri-M Music Honor Society

Quiros inducted seven students into the Tri-M Music Honor Society. The Society recognizes students for their efforts and accomplishments in music on the basis of musicianship, scholarship, character, leadership, and service to their school and community. The organization’s high standards serve to challenge students to greater effort and achievement and to encourage the pursuit of excellence.

Quiros inducted band members KJ Cainion, Evan Gossett, Jalen Miller, Janae Montgomery, Joseph Schwartz, and Austin Sumter. Jared Jones was inducted as an orchestra member.

International Thespian Society

Marsh inducted 14 new members into the International Thespian Society, which exists to advance the standards of excellence in theater arts and to honor those students who excel in theater. The society strives on the belief that participation in the arts is an essential means of widening students’ cultural horizons and enriching their lives.

Congratulations to the inductees: Michael Baldwin, Anna Bracher, Caroline Browne, Kayla Dixon, Annie Edwards, Colson Gulledge, Virginia Herschend, Maddie Knox, Grayson Nour, Joe Ostholthoff, Jack Overstreet, Ethan Powell, William Thomas, and Jordan Worrell.

Marsh also recognized the 2017 Thespian Officers: Julia Mixon (President), Ruthie Evans (Vice President), Lucy Eichelberger (Secretary), and Jordan Worrell (Treasurer).

Click here to view more photos from the ceremony.